Communications in Natural Resources Training, Lebanon, November 2018

Governments helping each other

This Group was built to be a trusted space where governments are encouraged to share questions and discuss solutions that can help them manage their natural resources effectively and navigate the energy transition. Member countries offer each other help and receive expert advice to understand the risks and the opportunities of becoming new oil and gas producers as the world economy begins to decarbonise.

We believe that reform and change gain better acceptance if led by producer countries. Problems and solutions are defined locally.  Governments learn from each other and collaborate to develop practical tools to support policy implementation.

Member countries

Who are we?

We are a network of government officials, national oil company executives and subject matter experts from over 30 countries. We are always open to welcoming new member countries from emerging oil and gas provinces as well as established producers.

Scroll through the maps to see members on each continent. Click on a country to see the site’s related resources. 

Member Countries

The membership changes, depending on which countries are actively engaged. We currently have:

  • 17 countries at the exploration phase (in green)
  • 6 at the post-discovery development phase (in orange)
  • 4 new producers (in blue)
  • 11 established producers (in purple)

In South America, current members include Colombia, Guyana, Suriname, Uruguay and Trinidad & Tobago.

Member Countries

There is some overlap in the stage of development categories. Some countries listed as explorers may have made small discoveries and some established producers seeking to open their offshore or onshore acreage could also be listed as explorers, for instance.

In Central America and the Caribbean current member countries include Mexico, Belize, Dominican Republic, Jamaica, Barbados, Bahamas, and Trinidad & Tobago.

Member Countries

Who are we?

We are a network of 700 government officials from petroleum and energy ministries, regulatory agencies, finance ministries,  revenue authorities, environmental agencies, planning ministries, sub-national governments and national oil companies.

In Europe, current member countries include Norway and Montenegro.

I'm a circle

Member Countries

Current members in Asia include Papua New Guinea and Timor-Leste.