We are a member driven network of government officials, national oil company executives and subject matter experts from over 30 countries. We help each other manage our petroleum resources in the most effective way and forge new development paths that create prosperity in the energy transition.


Our initiative is coordinated by Chatham House, the Natural Resource Governance Institute and the Commonwealth Secretariat. Finance and administration are primarily managed by the Environment and Society Programme at Chatham House.

Valerie Marcel
Chatham House

Director, Co-founder

Patrick Heller
Natural Resource Governance Institute


Naadira Ogeer
Commonwealth Secretariat


Chris Aylett
Chatham House

Project Administrator

Nicola Woodroffe
Natural Resource Governance Institute


Advisory Board

The Board advises the New Producers Group’s Secretariat on matters that directly concern the Group’s activities, partnerships and fundraising efforts. The Advisory Board is envisioned to further the mission, reach and impact of the New Producers Group. Its aim is also to increase the accountability of the New Producers Group’s Secretariat to its member countries.

Dr. K.K. Sarpong

Chair, 2019-2022
CEO of the Ghana National
Petroleum Corporation

Mr. Honey Malinga

Director of the Directorate of
Petroleum, Uganda

Mr. Walid Nasr

Chairman of the Lebanese Petroleum


The New Producers Group relies on funding from a range of sources, which is critical to safeguarding the independence and objectivity of its research, events, publications and other outputs. Our current funders are listed below. If you are interested in funding our initiative, please visit the Get Involved page.

Partner organisations

Our knowledge partners contribute invaluable time, insights and data to the project.

Technical advisors

In addition to the extensive knowledge base contained in the governments of our member countries and our partner organisations, we are fortunate to be able to draw on the insights of a range of experts, including:

Atul Arya & Carlos Bellorin, IHS Markit
Juan Carlos Boue, Curtis & Co
Deborah Gordon, Rocky Mountain Institute
Beth Mitchell, Independent
Dr Ekpen Omonbude, Bargate Advisory
Tony Paul, Association of Caribbean Energy Specialists Ltd.
Laura Robinson, Swale House Partners Inc
Peter Stewart, Squire Patton Boggs
Berit Tvedt, formerly Petoro, Statoil, Petrad
Pedro Van Meurs, Van Meurs Energy